×
from
or
or
16
Jul

Meet the Author: Natalie Haynes

We're thrilled to welcome broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes to chat about her book, A Thousand Ships

Web

Thursday 16th July, 2020 @ 8:00 pm

  • In Conversation
  • Questions & Answers
  • Talk

5

About the Event

We're thrilled to welcome broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes to chat about her book, A Thousand Ships which retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all.

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships, Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

Natalie Haynes is a writer and broadcaster. Her first novel, The Amber Fury, was published to great acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic, as was The Ancient Guide to Modern Life, her previous book. Her second novel, The Children of Jocasta, was published in 2017. Her retelling of the Trojan War, A Thousand Ships, was published in May 2019.

She has spoken on the modern relevance of the classical world on three continents, from Cambridge to Chicago to Auckland.

She writes for the Guardian. She is a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4: reviewing for Front Row and Saturday Review, appearing as a team captain on three seasons of Wordaholics, and banging on about Juvenal whenever she gets the chance. Four series of her show, Natalie Haynes Stands Up for the Classics, is broadcast on Radio 4.

Her documentary on the Defining Beauty exhibition at the British Museum, "Secret Knowledge: The Body Beautiful" aired in 2015 on BBC4 in the UK and on BBC World News everywhere else. She was a judge for the 2012 Orange Prize for Fiction, the 2013 Man Booker Prize, and the 2014 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

(Our virtual Zoom waiting room opens at 7.45 pm. Please login at this time so that we're able to get started at 8.00 pm)
Tickets: £5.00 (includes access to the online event and discount on book purchases)
*Places are limited*

Please note: If you sign up for one of our events facilitated by the Zoom video conferencing platform, you will receive instructions on how to join in advance of the event. You will require a smartphone, laptop or tablet with good internet connection, to access the event via video conferencing. Alternatively, you can dial in and just listen to the event audio using a landline or mobile phone.

About the Book

A Thousand Ships
A Thousand Ships

Natalie Haynes

Publisher:Pan Macmillan

Publication date:23 Apr 2019

ISBN:9781509836192

4.50 out of 5
3 reviews
"Haynes offers a fresh perspective on the story of the Trojan war"
Daily Mail
" If you are new to myths, then this is a learned, well-fashioned introduction"
The Spectator
"This subversive reseeing of the classics is a many-layered delight"
The Guardian

A feminist retelling of the Trojan War - giving voices to the women the myths forgot . . .